Spiritual Autobiography – Ages 22-49 (Part One)

March 17, 2008

My spiritual life was dormant during most of this period. This is the story of its reawakening – which began with reading The Crack in the Cosmic Egg. This book introduced me to the possibility of more to life than my materialistic world view showed me. I joined, The Loving Brotherhood, a small organization devoted to the spirituality of gay men. Its founder, Ralph Walker, introduced me to A Course in Miracles. I also learned about Ira Progoff’s Intensive Journal Method, and read every book I could find by Progoff before registering for a journal workshop. Both Progoff and A Course in Miracles taught me that I need not look outside for spiritual direction. Outside sources might help, but my primary source was within.

Two statements from A Course in Miracles stand out for me. The first is, “I place the future in the Hands of God.” At a workshop on the Course I heard a corollary, “Planning is an attack on God.” I try to make each action for its own sake, even when this action prepares me for something else. I understand that I will be guided to make preparations, but the future may not come to pass as I have envisioned it.

The second statement that is important to me is the prayer in the final lesson: “This holy instant would I give to You. Be You in charge, for I would follow You, certain that your direction gives me peace.” Many times when I have not looked to my higher self for guidance, I have felt confused and frustrated. When I looked to my higher self, all feelings of confusion and frustration vanished.

Next week I’ll write about my experience with the Journal Workshops

2 Responses to “Spiritual Autobiography – Ages 22-49 (Part One)”

  1. Lynn said

    Tank you for your insight. I, too, have studied the Course. I have just awakened to the concept of making each action for its’ own sake. Perhaps, this is a wonderful beginning for me. thank you – Lynn

  2. […] dreaming) and inner dialogue. I was first introduced to inner dialogue through the work of Ira Progoff – and I realized that I had used active imagination when I explored the possibility of […]

Leave a Reply

