Embracing Differences

November 29, 2010

In an earlier posting I gave my personal code of honor, derived from the teachings of AlixSandra Parness. The first two statements read:

  • Live With Integrity
  • Embrace Differences With Enthusiasm

I gave two definitions for integrity: “firm adherence to a code of especially moral or artistic values,” and “the quality or state of being complete or undivided.” Many people profess a firm adherence to some moral code, but their adherence creates division rather than unity. To have a code of values that enables me to live in integrity with myself and promote the integrity of all humanity, I must embrace differences.

On November 14, I presented a tele-seminar, “Knowing Yourself.” In that seminar I gave a caution based on the first sentence of The Book of the Tao. One translation reads “The Tao that can be spoken of is not the enduring Tao, ” and another reads, “A way can be a guide but not a fixed path.” To me this says that spirituality is not a one-size-fits-all proposition. I must embrace differences in spiritual paths.

On November 28, I presented a second tele-seminar, “Living with Integrity,” in which I presented the idea that embracing differences is the only way that we can have both personal integrity and work for the integrity of humanity as a whole.

On January 16, I will present a third tele-seminar, “Sex and Spirituality.” In this hour, I will present the high points of my work during the past three decades, starting with my studies with Joseph Kramer and going on to my work combining erotic spirituality with the knowledge that I’ve obtained from the study of energy healing. Seeing the sacredness of sex in all its manifestations is one way of embracing the full spectrum of humanity.

Leave a Reply

