“Celebrate Your Creative Spirit”

February 16, 2011

In the book of Genesis, it is written, “God created man in his own image.” As we were created in the image of God, like God we are creators. AlixSandra Parness has written “Creativity is at the heart of the human spirit.” I knew this before I read AlixSanrda’s words. Something in me has always told me that I was a creator. Even as a young boy, when I began to write first words and then music, I was dimly sensing my creative potential. Now, as a mature man, I sense how my creative power is one with the infinite creative power of the Universe.

Through creativity, I’m joined with everyone in the universe. When I listen to a Beethoven symphony, I am connected with the composers soul, and through him I am connected to the heart of God and the hearts of all God’s creation.

At Easton Mountain, we celebrate creativity. Our statement of values includes : “Creativity, celebration, fun and gaiety.” The coming year will see a small company of professional dancers in residence under the direction of choreographer John Ollom, creating a work that speaks to the experience of male-male love. I’ll be working with video to document or perhaps create a finished work of dance video. Details will appear in this blog as the project develops.

_____________________

I will be hosting another tele-seminar next Sunday, February 20. At the last seminar, there was a technical difficulty that prevented some of those who called in from speaking to everyone. This time, in keeping with the theme of  “Talking About Sex and Spirit,” I’ll be keeping all the phone lines open so that everyone can be part of the discussion.

One Response to ““Celebrate Your Creative Spirit””

  1. This post makes me think of a wonderful quotation from Martha Graham: “There is a vitality, a life force, a quickening that is translated through you into action, and because there is only one of you in all time, this expression is unique, and if you block it, it will never exist through any other medium; and be lost. The world will not have it. It is not your business to determine how good it is, nor how it compares with other expression. It is your business to keep it yours clearly and directly, to keep the channel open. You do not even have to believe in yourself or your work. You have to keep open and aware directly to the urges that motivate you. Keep the channel open.”

Leave a Reply

