How to Become an Abstract Artist–Instantly

February 28, 2013

Dada is a name given to a seminal movement in modern art that started about the time of World War I. It stressed irrationality, and one of its proponents suggested creating poetry by taking a newspaper article, carefully cutting out each word, and putting them together in random order. I have tried this on occasion and used the method to create spoken words that became part of a musical composition.

I have also extended this method to visual art by starting with a random scribble. I did this in a place where I had privacy and thus was able to do the whole procedure described here while completely naked.

Image

Over a copy of this scribble, I placed a grid of squares 1.25″ on each side. Then I cut the drawing into these squares. I randomly selected one and glued it to a sheet of plain paper.

Image

I continued adding squares, until I had added nine more. Each time I added a square I made sure at least one line of the new square connected with a line of another square.

Here’s the progression of lines being added

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

The resulting drawing was scanned and then cleaned up by removing any lines that came from the edges of the paper. As I looked at the drawing, the title, “Dance of Life” came to me. I asked myself, “What kind of music might be suggested by the drawing?” – “What kind of movement?” – “What colors?”

What do you see in the drawing?

Leave a Reply

