The People’s Climate March

July 30, 2014

I’ve posted several times in this blog about the Transition movement – a grassroots effort to reduce the use of fossil fuel and create thriving local economies. This movement has generally ignored politics and focussed on individual initiative to bring about change. This made sense to me. However, there are times when it may be appropriate to attempt to change the minds of politicians. I’ve reprinted several of my letters to the President and other government officials in this blog.

I’ve not usually favored demonstrations and direct action, but I’m making an exception. New York City – on Sunday, September 21 – may see a demonstration equal in significance to the 1963 March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom orchestrated by Martin Luther King and Bayard Rustin. During the week of September 21, the world’s heads of state are going to New York City for a historic summit on climate change. The People’s Climate March will be a demand that these leaders take the action necessary to create a world with an economy that works for all people and for the planet. If you will be anywhere near New York City on September 21, I urge you to be a part of this demonstration.

I was recently at the 319th New York Yearly Meeting of the Religious Society of Friends (Quakers). There I learned that at least one New York City Meeting, probably more, will be offering space in its meetinghouse for Quakers from outside the city who are coming to march.

Next week I’m heading up to Wheelock Mountain Farm in Greensboro Bend, VT, for the Northeast Regional Climate Justice Gathering – three days of workshops and planning for the March. On September 21, I might be marching inside a twelve-foot tall puppet or maybe playing cymbals in a marching band.

One Response to “The People’s Climate March”

  1. […] I stated in my July 30 post, on September 21 I will participate in the People’s Climate March. I will be marching with […]

Leave a Reply

